by Rab Bruce’s Spider

Mastodon: @RabBrucesSpider1@Mastodon.Scot

X / Twitter: @RabBrucesSpider

So John Swinney is back as leader of the SNP and will no doubt become our new First Minister. I can’t say I’m too excited about this as he was largely ineffectual during his last stint as leader. Still, he’s very experienced although his media presence really doesn’t grab attention or inspire. Perhaps, though, his greater experience will have helped him develop that. I really do hope so. What was disappointing was the lack of focus on gaining independence during his first speech. However, as I said in an earlier blog post, demonstrating competent government is a good place to start. My fear is that, with a General Election looming, he may not have enough time to implement any really eye-catching policy successes. I wish him luck because, although I am not a member of any political party, I recognise that the Yes movement needs a political vehicle to open doors towards becoming a normal, self-governing country, and the SNP, for all its many problems, remains the prime vehicle at the moment.

I genuinely hope that John Swinney can move us closer towards our goal. But then, I really hoped Nicola Sturgeon would do that and I was sadly disappointed. Then I hoped Humza Yousaf might generate the necessary momentum and, again, I was disappointed. It is, as the saying goes, the hope that kills you. But until some other pro-Indy party can gain enough media attention and voter support, the SNP is where our hopes lie. Fingers crossed that we see them take some positive action very soon, because action is what we need, not rhetoric.